Wednesday, 2 March 2011

Conquered The Side Climb

My left shin and the skin behind my right knee hurts, but that's irrelevant because I conquered the side climb!!!

Actually doing it, you feel like a chimpanzee climbing a tree at the zoo, because it's not classy and definitely doesn't look nor feel sexy - trust me!

Ignore my sweaty face and messy hair, let's focus upon the upper body strength and determination it took to get there. I remember a few weeks ago I tried this and it just wasn't happening at all. I couldn't even get off the ground! The muscles obviously weren't there.

Tonight's pole fit lesson was the start of a new 6 week course. Still on beginner/advance stage (probably will be for a while) but it seems that at the start of a new course I just go for everything. Tonight I conquered 'the plank' and a couple of other dancing spins, I'm so bad at trying to remember their names! All in all, a good night.

5 comments:

  1. I never realised how much work goes into sliding up and down a pole... I think some video is required to show of 'the slide climb'. Nice work though x

    ReplyDelete
  2. Thanks Rik! Video will be here in due course - watch this space!

    ReplyDelete
  3. looks good! wont be long until your doing poses from side climbs and getting some nice bug bruises from it :p

    ReplyDelete
  4. I'll look forward to the all the bruises - NOT! Poses from a side climb, hurt a lot, but i'll give them go!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Oh my gosh...I was learning the Side Climb today (thru studioveena)..it's my first attempt. Took me 3-4 tries before I can get up the pole...but GOSH...it hurts like a @#&*(# !! I can feel both my knee pits and the top of my feet will be really bruised tomorrow....

    ReplyDelete